Lauren Harper © Aperture Foundation

Lauren Harper © Aperture Foundation



5 Dutch Photobooks Shortlisted for Aperture PhotoBook Awards

0 Comments on this event

Hans Eijkelboom, Mattie Boom & Hans Rooseboom, Henk Wildschut, Erik van der Weide and Meta/Books are shortlisted for the Aperture Photobook Awards

PhotoBook Awards 

Lauren Harper © Aperture Foundation

Aperture and Paris Photo are pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2017 PhotoBook Awards. Established in 2012, the Paris Photo-Aperture Foundation PhotoBook Awards celebrate the photobook’s contribution to the evolving narrative of photography, with three major categories: First PhotoBook, Photography Catalogue of the Year, and PhotoBook of the Year.

This year’s Shortlist selection was made by a jury comprising Gregory Halpern (Winner of the 2016 PhotoBook of the Year Award), Lesley A. Martin (Creative Director of the Aperture Foundation book program and publisher of The PhotoBook Review), Kathy Ryan (Director of Photography, The New York Times Magazine), Joel Smith (Richard L. Menschel Curator of Photography at the Morgan Library & Museum), and Christoph Wiesner (Artistic Director, Paris Photo).

The jurying of the Awards takes place in two stages. The first part took place from September 20 to September 22, an intense three-day process that involved looking over 900 submissions to select the shortlisted books in all categories. “The task of the Shortlist jury is essentially a curatorial one,” says Martin. “The selected books comprise an exhibition that showcases the incredible array of creativity and excellence taking place right now in contemporary photobook making.”

A final jury in Paris, to be announced, will select the winners for all three prizes, which will be revealed on November 10, 2017, at Paris Photo. All shortlisted and winning titles will then be profiled in The PhotoBook Review, a biannual publication that accompanies Aperture magazine and exhibited at Paris Photo and Aperture Gallery in New York, touring thereafter.

PhotoBook of the Year

Erik van der Weijde
This Is Not My Book
Publisher: Spector Books, Leipzig, Germany, 2017
Designed by Fabian Bremer and Pascal Storz

Henk Wildschut
Ville de Calais
Self-published, Amsterdam, 2017
Designed by Robin Uleman

Photography Catalogue of the Year

Hans Eijkelboom: Photo Concepts 1970
Gabriele Conrath-Scholl, Wim van Sinderen, Gerrit Willems and Dieter Roelstraete
Snoeck Verlagsgesellschaft mbH, Cologne, 2016
Designed by Jaap van Triest, Amsterdam

New Realities: Photography in the 19th Century
Mattie Boom, Hans Rooseboom
Rijiksmuseum/Nai, Amsterdam, 2017
Designed by Irma Boom Office (Irma Boom/Tariq Heijboer)

First PhotoBook

Virginie Rebetez
Out of the Blue
Publisher: Meta/Books, Amsterdam, 2016
Designed by Chi-long Trieu


write a comment

in the spotlight

old masters

On November 29 Ilona van Tuinen will give a tour in The Morgan Library highlighting the exhibition "Drawn to Greatness: Master Drawings from the Thaw Collection".

read more


From December 8 to December 10, the platform for photography The Gallery Club is returning to Miami for the debut print publishing arts fair at Art Basel Miami Beach.

read more


On December 2 the seminar "Early Dutch New York" with Marine artist Len Tantillo is presented by The National Maritime Historical Society.

read more

visual arts

From December 6, 2017, to April 2, 2018, Vizcaya Museum and Gardens presents the exhibition "Overload" with Tanja Smeets and Arnout Meijer.

read more